Is a German Shepherd Smarter than a Labrador?

I made my first movie starring Raynor and Fatty McButterpants.  This video is based on a part of the Dog IQ Test called Dog Under Towel. Before you watch it and think I’m a terrible person who tortures Labradors with towels on their heads let me reassure you.

Okay, I can’t.

I’m a terrible person who laughs at the expense of old Labradors. But my mirth is mostly due to my memories of doing this test years ago when Fatty and Jonah were youngsters and Jonah’s response at the time to Fatty. If a dog could roll its eyes, he would have. Raynor seems much more concerned about her well-being.

ETA: I found some free use music to use from this site: http://dig.ccmixter.org/free_music?offset=0. The song is called, Cafe Connection Instrumental.

26 thoughts on “Is a German Shepherd Smarter than a Labrador?

  1. Thank you for show casing Jackie (also known as Fatty McButter Pants or Tubbles) and her greatest asset: contentment and adaptability. When the sun burns out she'll be the only one who can cope.

  2. Kinda huh? Fatty has never been able to figure her way out from under the towel, but she's sweet anyway. There is something to be said for a stupid dog.

  3. Ok, I admit it. I have a lab and I tried the towel over the head trick. I honestly thought he'd be faster…nope. He just sat there for a few seconds and then he started to run through the house with the towel on his head. Our lab is sweet and loving and blonde.

Leave a Reply

