We’re home from BlogHer 2011

What a whirlwind trip BlogHer 2011 was for my daughter Rachel and me.

We drove a total of 1563 miles in 7 days, slept in three different hotels, went out dancing and stayed up until 3am almost every night, and just in general had the time of our lives. As far as I could tell we were the only mother-daughter duo at BlogHer and more’s the pity because we rocked it.

Now it’s back to planet Earth (well, Planet Chloe anyway) where I’m completely exhausted and I have to work tomorrow.

I’m sure I’ll be processing this trip for weeks to come.

On Thursday, I attended the pre-Conference all-day Pathfinder workshop with Ree Drummond (aka:The Pioneer Woman, as if you need me to tell you that) and Kathryn Finney of The Budget Fashionista, and learned that neither of them had any initial business plan for blogging success whatsoever (HINT: anyone who tells you otherwise is trying to sell you something). What they had was vision that others didn’t have. They blogged because it was something they loved to do, period. And out of that passion came all the other stuff. I found what they had to say enlightening.

I have some really crappy pictures of them to share. I could have cropped the first one, but I left it as is so you could get the scope of the situation.

The Pioneer Woman and The Budget Fashionista

The second one is so blurry because I was shaking so hard from merely being in her presence.

I had all day to take pictures and this is the best I got

I did not go up and introduce myself to TPW, but let me go on public record that she’s DELIGHTFUL (this is where my naughty girl wants to insert: “The Bitch-I-think-I-hate-her”, but I can’t because it is simply impossible to hate Ree Drummond). Everything about her exudes grace and charm, humor and humility. In fact you ought to go read her blog instead. I don’t even know why I bother.

Kathryn Finney was energetic and so approachable. Her I met–by accident, we rode the escalator together–and I almost offered to drive her to Coronado because she wanted to see The Hotel Del Coronado, but I got nervous and didn’t. Apparently famous people make me act strangely.

Case in point: Gretchen Rubin.

Yes, I met Gretchen Rubin.  Since I wrote about reading her book and its impact on me here and here and hereI felt obligated to go up and do the awkward meet-the-celebrity thing with her because I thought she ought to know how much she really helped me overcome my sadness.

So I stood in line waiting my turn while she most graciously met other people. She’s a nice lady, Gretchen Rubin. It gives me hope in this world to see such nice people be successful. Here’s the live-action photo montage of my meeting Gretchen Rubin (untouched).

I introduce myself.

“Hi, I’m Chloe. Your book was terrific”
It’s going well. 
Next, she says something nice back, like, “Thank you, Chloe. I’m glad you liked it.”

Then I make some poignant point about how deeply her work about happiness touched my life while she listened attentively (even though she’s probably heard it a bazillion times).

And then……

I have a freaking seizure of something! HOLY HELL! Is this what I look like meeting people? No wonder I have social anxiety. I should. I act like an idiot.

I sort of berated myself for being too shy to go up and meet Ree Drummond but after seeing these pics of me meeting Gretchen Rubin all I can say is that I’m very relieved. 

29 thoughts on “We’re home from BlogHer 2011

  1. oh my gosh, Chloe, I'm cracking up at your montage here! I kind of act weird when I meet someone I admire, too. Not sure why, nerves, I guess! I'm reading her book right now, didn't know she'd be speaking at Blogher, it was a nice surprise! I loved meeting you! I wish we could have hung out more, I really didn't organize my time very well. My next blogher, I plan to plan better πŸ˜‰

  2. Oh, how I love ya. :>) "No wonder I have social anxiety. I should. I act like an idiot." Precious. Love it. I tend to try and mother people I admire (or whose work/talent I enjoy) when I meet them. What the crap is THAT?!?!

  3. That's kinda sweet, though. They probably are tired and need tending, don't they? Apparently I try to get them to call 911 and make them wonder if they should stick a tongue depressor in my mouth to keep me from biting my own tongue.

  4. You see I could do these conventions if they started and ended a wee bit earlier… 3am? I'd be dead with exhaustion the next day.Love that book too and I'm sure she didn't notice any seizure… looks to me as if you are laughing or something πŸ™‚

  5. You say it like I wasn't dead with exhaustion. I was. Even my sweet little young thang daughter was dead with exhaustion. But we pushed through it. As Anne says, "Sleep when you're dead."

  6. LOL, yeah, I'm sure that's it. I wasn't have a spasm of the head or anything.And I'm so glad to hear that I'm not the only one who gets worked up over stuff like this. I want to say hi but I don't want to be a burden or annoy them and I worry that they are tired or something and so I just end up acting ridiculous.

  7. You are hilarious. I'd be frozen in my boots…. well if I had boots. I can hardly get up the nerve to talk to a photographer AT CHURCH let alone some famous. I have issues…Can I add discus kills me… I have such issues signing in. Any suggestions???

  8. Hahahaha!! You so crack me up!! I'm laughing because you are the most stinking photogenic person I know (well, maybe your husband and daughter tie you for that honor) and yet you have taken a hilarious picture! And you laugh at yourself a lot, which makes me hate your photogenic-ness (a new word?!) a lot less. πŸ™‚ And I still love you, ringworm and all…

  9. D'OH!! I'm laughing so hard. Not at you. WITH YOU.This is exactly ME in those kinds of situations.Once, I went to an album signing with my friend. We were going to see some artists that I had actually gotten HER (my friend) to listen to. So we wait in line. We get to the table and for the entire few minutes I literally stood behind my friend while she (the quiet one of the two of us) did ALL of the talking. She and I still get a good giggle out of that.

  10. Crap. I apologize. That really bums me out, Kristal. I put on disqus so I could reply individually to people which I really like much better, but even I have disqus issues sometimes replying to my own and other blogs. I don't have an answer other than I ought to pay a real web designer some money and get a real website.

  11. That definitely made it feel more important and that made me even more nervous. Her book did help me and I wanted her to know that without seeming weird and stalkerish.

Leave a Reply

