Aioli Garlic Mustard Potluck Potato Salad

Recently I’ve fallen in love with Trader Joe’s Aioli Garlic Mustard Sauce.  If you are a mustard lover you’re going to find that this stuff is so good you will be eating it straight out of the jar.

So when I was faced with the boring task of needing to make another potato salad I immediately thought of this mustard sauce and how I could use it. And I’m glad I did. This recipe serves about 16.

Trader Joe’s Aioli Garlic Mustard Sauce Potluck Potato Salad

4 lbs potatoes (I mixed it up by using 2 lbs red potatoes and 2 lbs yukon golds, scrubbed, but unpeeled for extra color and flavor, but you can peel the potatoes if you prefer).
4 stalks thinly sliced celery
1 medium red onion chopped
1/2 C chopped sweet or dill pickles
2 cups mayonnaise
2-3 tbs Trader Joe’s Aioli Garlic Mustard Sauce (I say the more the merrier)
2 Tbs Balsamic vinegar
1 tsp kosher salt
1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper

Cover the potatoes with cold water, add 1/2 tsp of salt, and cook over medium heat until just the right potato-salady texture. I like the potatoes not too mushy that they turn to mashed potatoes, but not crunchy either. Since I live at a high altitude your cooking time may vary. Cool.

To cooled potatoes, add sliced celery, chopped onions, and chopped pickles.

In a separate bowl, mix mayo, mustard sauce, vinegar, salt and pepper to taste.

Carefully mix together wet ingredients with potato mixture.

Potato salad is a perfect party food for the hostess because it is best if you make this a day ahead and allow it to sit overnight in the refrigerator before serving.

I garnished with sliced grape tomatoes and parsley.

4 thoughts on “Aioli Garlic Mustard Potluck Potato Salad

  1. Sounds dee-lish…but what is one to do if Trader Joe's won't come to our fair city? People in Kenosha have been begging…but alas, we are Trader Joe-less. 😦 Your recipe sounds yummy, but what can I sub in for the TJ sauce?

  2. Ooh! I have a great potato salad recipe that is vegan. It's made with olive oil and cilantro and other yummy stuff. Maybe I'll make it for you later this month or early next month.Though, that potato salad was yummy!

Leave a Reply

