Becoming a Brazen Woman

Elevator Going Up?

A couple of months ago, Anne and Susan convinced me to go to The Sits Girls Blog Conference coming up in October.  Since there can’t be much more fun than us fun girls flying somewhere and hanging out together without kids or husbands, I leaped at the opportunity.

I really had no idea what I was signing up for.  I didn’t care.  I did it for the promise of fun. Only after I signed up did I start to look at what I’d done: a Sits Girl Bloggy Boot Camp.  Oh cripes.  Boot Camp?  Honestly?  But if Anne and Susan (and maybe Robin?) are there then how bad could it be?

In preparation for the conference, the Sits Girls have been having a daily challenge working through a program based on the ideas of Darren Roose at problogger, called, “How to Build a Better Blog in 31 Days.”  There’s a pretty little blue button on my sidebar if you want to go have a look for yourself.

FIRST: Don’t worry.  My blog isn’t going to become a place with flashing ads or annoying pop-ups or blaring videos that start up when you open my page, because I hate all that stuff.  Anyway, Penelope Trunk promises me that my blog isn’t going to make money and here’s why. My goal with this blog is to write better and interact with you.

I’m going to the conference to have fun with my friends, but I joined in on this blog thing with The Sits Girls because I want to make my blog better for my readers and more productive for me. It is my hope that my blog could become a place for you to drop by for a few moments out of your busy day.

That was a long explanation to get to my first assignment which is, “Write an Elevator Speech.”  An elevator speech must describe my blog in 140 characters or less.  Here is my elevator speech:

No longer a young Mother with babies at the breast, too young by far to be the Crone; I am in the season of the Brazen Woman.

What does it mean to be a Brazen Woman?  To be brazen means to face or undergo with bold assurance.

I want to live the rest of my life boldly and courageously, audaciously unshackled to my past fears and not controlled by my present anxieties.

Throughout my life I really have tried to be the “good girl” with mixed success.  I sought to be pleasing and endeavored to be perfect, living up to everyone else’s expectations, but somehow always failing.  I am done sacrificing myself on the altar of anxiety to a god who will never love me.

If perfect love casts out fear, then I say, let us have more love.  If truth is what sets us free, then I say, let us have more truth.

Right away, I can hear the old voices in my head. “Aren’t women supposed to be ‘meek and quiet’?  Certainly women are not supposed to be brazen.  Shouldn’t we try to be like Jesus?”

Um. Yeah.

Sunday School felt board lessons notwithstanding, Jesus was not actually meek. Jesus did not change the world simply by holding baby lambs on his lap and smiling benevolently. Nobody gets crucified for that. He was a revolutionary who boldly and audaciously changed the world.

Women today have been born into an amazing time. Unlike nearly every previous generation of women, we enjoy decades of a healthy life unencumbered by the biological requirements and limitations of reproduction.

In 1900, the life expectancy of a woman in the US was 48.3 years old.  Most women were dead by menopause.  Today, we enjoy a life expectancy of 78.7.  What are you and I going to do with those extra 30 YEARS?!?!

I know one thing.  I’m going to live it as a brazen woman.  What about you?

11 thoughts on “Becoming a Brazen Woman

  1. I'm all about being a Brazen woman! Sounds like fun- I'm tired of living my life for what other people think anyway! Time to have fun and be me!

  2. Kris, this definitely could be arranged. I will talk to the Fun Girls and I think we'll be posting something about this. Thanks for giving us the idea.Thanks for stopping by.Chloe

  3. Sounds fun, if we have the time. I have a tiny window of turnaround. I wish I'd thought about that before I bought my plane ticket. Still, I think we can work something out.I'd love to see the ATL crew!

Leave a Reply

