Six Steps to Getting Up Off Your Lazy Butt

Here they are:

1.  GET up off your lazy butt.

2.  Get UP off your lazy butt.

3.  Get up OFF your lazy butt.

4.  Get up off YOUR lazy butt.

5.  Get up off your LAZY butt.

6.  Get up off your lazy BUTT.

Anyway you say it, there really is only ONE way to get up off your lazy butt, and that’s to:  GET UP OFF YOUR LAZY BUTT.

I’m writing this post for myself as much as for anyone.  But I thought I’d share the wealth of the wisdom I’ve learned when it comes to self-motivation.

The past few months I’ve been suffering from a knee injury that has ended up taking a lot longer to heal than I expected.  I am finally getting better.  In addition to this pesky knee problem, recovering from our vacation has been a bee-otch.  I told my husband that I’m too old for this much hedonism.  Yeah, I know, you have the world’s smallest violin playing, My Heart Bleeds For You.  Har har.  We all have our reasons we’ve allowed lethargy to rule our lives.

Oh, I have “reasons” but none of them really hold water. Whatever the reasons, my real reason is, I just don’t wanna. I don’t feel like it.

So, here’s my challenge to you today.  Write down your six biggest obstacles for not exercising.  Read them over carefully.  Next, rip the paper up because those obstacles have no solutions.  I promise you that unless one of the obstacles is, “I’m on a ventilator in the Intensive Care Unit” those very same obstacles will likely exist next year and the year after that.  Your life will never accede ground to make room for you.  You will have to take it by force.  I promise you that.

One of my new favorite DVD work-outs is Jilian Michaels: SHRED-IT With Weights (I use a regular hand-weight since I don’t own a kettlebell).

She makes a statement at the end of the work-out about health being an entry point into the life you want to have.  I couldn’t agree more.  Exercise is the way I stayed sane when my world was collapsing.  It is the way I coped with my mother dying.  I need to be active in the same way I need to breathe.

So I’m telling you and I’m telling myself:

GET UP OFF YOUR LAZY BUTT!

Have a great day!
  

19 thoughts on “Six Steps to Getting Up Off Your Lazy Butt

  1. LOL! Thank you. I needed that. Now I'm going out to spread alfalfa pellets around my roses. Oh I have a post coming up around noon and it mentions you. You'll smile!

  2. I read a quote by Dr. Oz that said something to the effect of "Are you so disorganized that you don't have 20 minutes in your day to exercise?" or something along those lines. I always think of that when I don't want to run..That and Nike's line "Just do it." is pure genius.

  3. Tara, you are so right. There really isn't a short-cut. Objects in motion tend to stay in motion while objects at rest tend to stay at rest. To get your object (butt) up, you just have to do it.Chloe

  4. Dear Anonymous, we here at The Chloe Chronicles pull no punches. The truth is hard, and the person who needs it most is ME.thanks for commenting,chloe

  5. Oh Robin! I cannot wait to read it. You are also a good example of someone who keeps her life full of good things: gardening, chickens, and lovely handmade things. You inspire me.Chloe

  6. Renee, it really is the truth. It isn't whether or not we have the time, it is whether or not we make the time. And sometimes I just don't feel like it. But my health and healthy longevity (which is what we all should want) ride on it. The decisions I make today will last the rest of my life.Thanks for commenting such wisdom.Chloe

  7. Shoot, dont' know why my google thing won't work.I'm working on being consistent with my exercising, and counting steps, and the food i eat. I have some BL videos I'm using and I have a jillian abs but my foot won't let me do that plank movezoorho

  8. Zoorho, I hate when I can't comment. I wish blogger's comments were set-up differently.I have to adjust the work-outs around my injury too. There are even some that I can't do, so during those I substitute some of my physical therapy exercises instead. I figure at least I'm moving around and that counts for something.Chloe

  9. Dear Anonymous, we here at The Chloe Chronicles pull no punches. The truth is hard, and the person who needs it most is ME.thanks for commenting,chloe

  10. I read a quote by Dr. Oz that said something to the effect of "Are you so disorganized that you don't have 20 minutes in your day to exercise?" or something along those lines. I always think of that when I don't want to run..That and Nike's line "Just do it." is pure genius.

Leave a Reply

