Why I haven’t given up on Twitter

After a couple of weeks on Twitter, I wanted to come back and announce that I haven’t completely given up. In fact today was my best day on Twitter ever.  I made some coherent tweets and got retweeted a couple of times, and didn’t totally feel like I had boogers hanging out of my nose.

I think the secret is finding real people to tweet with, and I think I might have actually begun to meet some real human beings there (of course, I always had Anne and then Susan and Robin, and they are as real as real can be).

I want to confess that I unfollowed my first person today.  Like the new student at her first high school dance, I was indiscriminate with who I followed in the beginning.  But I just couldn’t take anymore of this certain twit’s inane New Age gobbledygook about the Universe and how much it loves me.  I thought about it for a couple of days because I didn’t want to hurt her feewings.  I mean she’s out there believing the Universe is sending her good things and I up and unfollow her?  But I COULDN’T TAKE IT ANYMORE!  It was like a constant stream from a bad *S*C*I*E*N*T*O*L*O*G*Y* commercial (Anne says never write the “S” word on your blog or they find you, kidnap you, and turn you into a Borg).

So I unfollowed her.  Gone she is from my stream of consciousness.  I hope the Universe can forgive me.

4 thoughts on “Why I haven’t given up on Twitter

  1. Twitter is a wonderful place but also can be very difficult at first. I think the key to it is to engage with people. Don't feel bad about unfollowing someone. In the beginning I followed everyone that had the word "mom" in their profile. I realized quickly that I didn't fit with all of them so I started unfollowing them so that my stream was people I wanted to talk to.

  2. Jessica, this is exactly what I'm discovering. Give myself time to find and engage people.Thanks for the comment. Hope things are going well your way.chloe

Leave a Reply

