Finally, Spring!

>

It is no exaggeration to say that where I live it is nearly always winter and very rarely Christmas. Don’t believe me? We had snow on June 1st!  So we are lucky if we get a full three months of summer, and all bets are off for any sort of Spring or Fall.

I just took a few pictures from the back yard.  I posted them extra-large (all the better to see them with, my dears), so you’ll need to click “read more” at the bottom to see the rest.

But today is the sort of day that those of us who live here live for.  If you were here with me today enjoying perfect 70 degree non-humid weather while sipping tea on my back deck, this is what you’d see:

View this morning from the back deck

The new fence to keep Jean-Luc safe
Lilacs and Spirea
Lilacs and more Lilacs
Cherries to come if the birds don’t eat them first
So Pretty! And they smell wonderful.

Purple Iris
Dianthus “Firewitch”

As I mentioned in another post, I’m currently reading the fantasy series by George R.R. Martin, A Game of Thrones.  For those of you who’ve read these books, I can assure you that I know now what it means to always feel as though Winter is Coming.  But for now let’s enjoy Spring!

11 thoughts on “Finally, Spring!

  1. >Mmmm, I can just about smell your lilacs. Gorgeous! Ours are nearly spent, but even so they bloomed almost a month late this year. The woods behind J-L's fence look inviting too, as long as one is much bigger than a bichon!

  2. >Beautiful!! I love love love lilacs! My bush got smashed this year as dh was taking down the boys' tree house 😦 So I didn't get to enjoy my lilacs. I will enjoy yours vicariously! And how funny is it that I also have Dianthus "firewitch" in my yard!But your yard is much nicer than mine…

  3. >They do smell very good. I got out there with the weed-eater under the lilac after I took that picture and it was heavenly. Best place to weed-eat in the world.There is about another 1/2 acre behind that fence that is just plain, unlandscaped woods. That's where the attack took place. Now his entire yard is clearly visible from the house.

  4. >I think I hate you!! lol So beautiful!!! I was going to post a pic of our post-drought, pre-summer brown yard but I didn't want to bring you down……….. πŸ™‚

  5. I think I hate you!! lol So beautiful!!! I was going to post a pic of our post-drought, pre-summer brown yard but I didn't want to bring you down……….. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

