The Great Karaoke Competition

>

“What a lovely way to burn”

Um.  Well.  First of all, let me just say upfront that I hate karaoke.  The reason involves another rather traumatic story about my mother (do they ever end?), but I’m not going to bore you with that today.  Let it suffice to say that I don’t sing.  But my husband sings.  Like a bird.  And he loves karaoke.  And I love him, so I sort of have this love/hate thing with karaoke.

Last year my husband won the local karaoke contest and was sent on an all-expense paid trip to Las Vegas to compete against 99 other winners from across the country and Canada in the 6th Annual International Karaoke Contest.  It was a heady experience for him and very nerve-wracking for me.  He made the top twenty, but was eliminated in the semi-finals.

Here’s he is pictured, second from the right, after he won the initial elimination round:

By the way, the guy on the far left with the armband tatoo was the final winner.  The lady to Jeff’s left told us that she’d tried out for American Idol and was told she was too old which is a crying shame because the woman could sing like nobody’s business.  Heck, they all could sing like nobody’s business.  But I’m pretty certain that my husband had the most fun.
This year our daughter competed for a chance to go to the finals in Grapevine, Texas.  Here’s the flier:


Two days before the big competition she caught a nasty cold that really robbed her of her range, but, as they say the show must go on, and she competed anyway.  She was so fantastic.  Oh my gosh.  I couldn’t be prouder of her.  Unfortunately, distracted by getting her ready I completely forgot my video camera and as far as I know there are no recordings of her performance, but I do have these stills that I’d love to share.  She is singing Michael Bublé’s Fever.

Here she is, my little chanteuse:

She looked so at ease.

Romeo loved Juliet

Juliet, she felt the same
When he put his arms around her
He said, “Julie, Baby, you’re my flame.”

Here she is just owning it.  I was so proud of her.

That’s a confident strut.

“What a lovely way to burn”

“What a lovely way to Burn”

She is so beautiful and talented and just an overall lovely, lovely person, inside and out.  I love this girlie with all my heart.  God doesn’t know how I ever deserved a daughter so wonderful, but I’m sure glad he gave me her.

Sadly, she did not win this year despite being absolutely amazing, even with a terrible head cold. She just didn’t have the ability to belt which I believe proved to be her downfall. But kudos to her for going out there anyway and giving it her very best. She’s the winner in my book.

5 thoughts on “The Great Karaoke Competition

  1. >I love hearing about how proud you are of your girlie! PSP, your pictures are awesome, I want to hear you sing, and your attitude about grabbing hold of life just makes me smile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

