>I’ve Lost My Groove

>

Patella-Femoral, that is.

See, there is this groove that runs at the bottom of your femur (that’s the thigh bone). The patella (that’s the knee bone) is supposed to glide up and down straight through this groove as you bend and straighten the leg. My patella wanks out laterally instead of smoothly gliding up and down because the outer thigh muscles (the Vastus Lateralis) are working harder than the inner thigh muscle (the Vastus Medialis) and that imbalance allows the outside muscle to pull harder thereby pulling my patella wonky.  Here’s a nice picture:

Well, that’s a basic explanation anyway.  And it hurts.

From time to time, sports injuries are simply a fact of life for most people who exercise vigorously. This knee thing of mine has plagued me off and on for several years, getting better for a time, but always returning when I hit a certain level of fitness.  Recently, it seems to have gotten worse, or maybe it just isn’t recovering as quickly anymore, I’m not sure, and, since I’m going to need these knees for another 45 years or so, I thought I’d take it seriously this time.  (Because I want to end up like this:)

So now I’m seeing a physical therapist and I have a list of very boring exercises I do twice a day.  I’m not allowed to do any squats or lunges AT ALL (that means no Jillian), and I have to avoid walking up or down any inclines.  I can still use the treadmill, but only at 3.5 miles per hour max and without any incline settings.  It is all very boring and tedious and I already am hating it enough that I’m fast losing motivation to exercise at all, but I know that if I stop now I’ll likely just end up sufferinng from this for the rest of my life. (Not like this:)

So I keep on keeping on because I’m depending on this body to carry me around so I can live the life I want to live.  I only get one life and I only get one body in which to live this life.  I hope this gets better soon. 

8 thoughts on “>I’ve Lost My Groove

  1. >Yes, glucosamin and chondroitin are supposed to help and so I'm taking them as well, Anne. But it takes about 2 months before you really get good results from those things. At this point I'm willing to take eye of newt if I thought it would fix it.

  2. >My mother in law swears by raisins soaked in rum. One or two a day. I told her that I thought drinking the rum would have a better effect but she just patted me on the head and ate her raisin.

  3. Yes, glucosamin and chondroitin are supposed to help and so I'm taking them as well, Anne. But it takes about 2 months before you really get good results from those things. At this point I'm willing to take eye of newt if I thought it would fix it.

  4. Susan, I'm hoping that PT is in your future as well and soon. It seems to be taking longer than I'd like, but I think I'm getting improvement.

Leave a Reply

