>The Happiness Project

>
I just returned from having a great time in Nashville with Anne (unfortunately not pictured), Susan (the devious redhead in the middle) and Robin (the one with the devlish grin on the right). It was a time of fun, laughter, Springtime (it is still snowing here on the Mountain), and great food (with one notable exception, ugh!). Susan is a woman after my foodie’s heart and she’s been kind enough to start an outline of our trip together by chronicling what we ate: http://wildlifeinthewoods.blogspot.com/

I love these girlies, and, after meeting for the first time in a hotel room 3 years ago in Huntington Beach, we’ve been having a totally wholesome version of a Same Time, Next Year love affair with one another ever since. Some of you might recall my writing about our meet-up in San Francisco last year. Here’s us out in front of The Orpheum before we saw Wicked:

I really needed this trip for so many reasons so let me give a big shoutout to Robin, Susan, Anne, and their husbands and mine, for making the trip happen. Susan’s husband, Lindsay, was a terrific host and ended our time together by pulling out the fatted elk tenderloin and grilling it to perfection. He’s most certainly a gem.

Susan took us to meet a group of ladies she gathers together with every Friday morning and I got to meet Diane. Diane reminded me that there really was a reason I wrote this blog in the first place and she inspired me to restart writing it again. I also know that I need a group of real women like that in my life. I’m praying for God to bring them to me and soon.

A lot changes have been going on in my life. I’ve left Sonlight Forums for good. This is a really good thing for me. I am very sad to leave so many wonderful friends behind but I can always be found here if anyone needs me.

Recently I picked up a copy of The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin and, even though I haven’t finished the book, I have begun my own Project.

I’m not particularly unhappy right now. My marriage has never been better, my work is fulfilling, and my kids are doing well. But there are several areas of my life that could be improved and I am going to set out to improve them. I hope to have a plan for my own yearlong journey by may 1st.

15 thoughts on “>The Happiness Project

  1. >May 1st. Good timeframe. I hope to have something figgr'd out by then, too.Once you've got your list I'll link your blog.I love you! Thanks for being an inspiration to me in so many ways.

  2. >I'm so glad to see a blog post by you in my Google Reader. šŸ™‚ You make me smile!What a treat to have some time with your girls. šŸ™‚ And I pray that you do find some local girlfriends. Just in the last few months, I'm finding I'm getting some and it warms my heart!! I want that for you, too!

  3. >I am so glad you are going to be blogging again. Reading what you went thru with your son was preparing me for what we went thru with our daughter. (And I didn't even know it at the time!) You lead me to Parents of Prodigals which was very helpful. Between PoP and the folks praying over on the Sonlight forums we felt so blessed to be covered in prayer. I will have to check out the Happiness Project.Dana

  4. >I am oh! so! excited to see you have blogged my new friend. I am blessed and thankful to follow the journey God has marked out for you. It was out of woundedness (I hope that's a word) and desperation that I invited these precious women into my home, but the Love of God has kept them coming back. It was so good to have you all with us.Diane

  5. >I don't normally comment on blogs, but I'm so happy I stumbled onto it from the SL forums. While I'm sad to hear that you have left, I wanted to let you know that you have taught me a lot and I love your sweet, vivacious spirit. I started following your blog with your series How Stella Got Her Groove Back. Thank you so much for putting yourself out there and showing "younger" women how to walk in this life. Even though you don't know me and we might never meet, know that I am praying for you.Sarah (Shera from the SL Forum)

  6. >Chloe, I just wanted you to know that I'm going to miss your wisdom on the SL forums. I think they'll be a poorer place for not having people like you, with all your experience, to help us new (hs'ing) mums along the way. Claire (Bluekirbykirby)

  7. I am so glad you are going to be blogging again. Reading what you went thru with your son was preparing me for what we went thru with our daughter. (And I didn't even know it at the time!) You lead me to Parents of Prodigals which was very helpful. Between PoP and the folks praying over on the Sonlight forums we felt so blessed to be covered in prayer. I will have to check out the Happiness Project.Dana

  8. May 1st. Good timeframe. I hope to have something figgr'd out by then, too.Once you've got your list I'll link your blog.I love you! Thanks for being an inspiration to me in so many ways.

Leave a Reply

