>Christian Liberty?

>

I have received a private apology from the company.

The entire situation has made me think a lot about liberty and especially intellectual freedom. It would seem to me that there is a contingent of persons who desire to silence opposing viewpoints on the forums. This contingent feels threatened somehow and wants those opposing viewpoints expunged. What is ironic in this is that probably many, not all, of my own personal viewpoints line up much more with the contingent of persons versus the opposing viewpoints. I am an Evangelical Conservative Christian who now finds herself aligned with “them”.

This quote by Thomas Paine comes to my mind, “He that would make his own liberty secure, must guard even his enemy from opposition; for if he violates this duty he establishes a precedent that will reach himself.” This is not to say that TS or D_O or anyone else is my enemy. No way! They are my friends. But so are many from the “other side”. I straddle both camps but clearly do not feel I belong in either one. I’m just a woman stumbling my way through this life as best I can on my way to heaven. I’m nothing more, but I’ll be damned if I’ll be cast as anything less.

I love God. I love Truth. I love Freedom. I want the freedom to think for myself. I don’t want to be told how to think. I don’t need the thought police to keep me faithful, I have the Lord Jesus and the Holy Spirit for that. I refuse to walk in fear. But even more than that, I want you to be able to walk and think in freedom. Some posters have intimated that I’ve been fighting for “my rights”. Peshaw! That’s ridiculous. It isn’t true. I’ve no place there anymore except for the dear people I love and for this wee little issue that has drawn me back. I’m not fighting for me, I’m fighting for the community as a whole to retain the intellectual freedoms we’ve enjoyed for over a decade. People must realize that if the atheists and the Catholics are silenced then next it will you. That’s the way this works. The legalistic among us are never satisfied. Look to history for confirmation of this.

One question you should ask yourself is, “Would the Spanish Inquisition have been able to use a person like me?” That’s a scary thought when analyzing this situation from a sociological perspective. 

I have no bone to pick. No war to fight. No further issues on the table. I don’t want a Revolution. Some have already moved on to another forum and that’s where I’ll be.

I have known for a long time now, months, that my time was ending. It has been hard because there are people who write to me and confide in me and appreciate me being there. To those people, know that I’m still here for you. Pouring your life out for your children and then having one go prodigal on you sucks! But you can survive it and thrive and flourish. I am.

Frankly, I”m just too much woman right now for that forum (that’s a joke, sort of). I want to wear high heels, and go dancing, and travel, and enjoy my marriage. I’ve moved past my grief and I”m in joy right now despite what my children do or don’t do. I”m ready to start training to climb a 14 thousand foot mountain this summer. That’s my next big project. I also need to deal with my recently diagnosed and fairly severe osteopenia. That’s a scary situation for me. I’ve watched my grandmother and now my mother literally crumble before my eyes with osteoporosis. That’s going to take up some of my time and focus. I want to write and read more. I want to invest in my friendships more now that I have the time. Having friends, really good friends, has become almost the most important thing in my life. Being a good friend is very important to me. I don’t know that I’ve always been a very good friend, but I want to be a good friend to my friends. That’s where I’m at.

Those of you who are still on the road of active parenting, God bless you and keep you. Parenting is so much harder than I imagined it would be. I thought love would be enough and I’ve learned that it is, but it isn’t. Kids have a way of thinking for themselves. Maybe that’s what’s made me so tolerant here in my old age. I really don’t know.

I want my life to mean something. I’m on the journey to discover that. God bless.

12 thoughts on “>Christian Liberty?

  1. >I'm very glad that you received a private apology, but shouldn't it also be public. They were wrong.You have posted so many times, I've laughed and cried with you over and over. You deserve more that a private apology.Cathy (cdgni)

  2. >Hi Chloe!I'm Princess Bride on the forums. I've appreciated your words so much. I'm trying to limit my computer time to get ready for the twins. This whole forums thing has been baffling and sad. You are in my thoughts and prayers! Maybe next time we drive to Oregon to see the in-laws we can actually meet!Chiara

  3. >Thanks for the kind thoughts. I am at peace over the situation. I think they are an honorable company under tremendous pressures to please a wide customer base. My heart and my prayers go out to them.I think they make a very fine product and I'm proud to have used it. I have nothing but good to say about their product. I never bought their product because of the forums, the forums to me were always a bonus. A blessed bonus that I needed as an isolated homeschooling mother. I would be sad to see any of that disappear.God bless.

  4. >Dear Chloe,I just want to say how very much I appreciate you. I still remember one of your very first posts and I think I haven't missed many since. Before all THIS happened I was already thinking it was time for me to leave. Not that anyone would know because I mostly lurk. But sometimes I think I'm hooked just like it was a soap opera and that's not necessarily healthy. It's always been part of my 'me' time, though, and I would really miss it. I'm glad you're able to move on. I think I mentioned to you that I spent the entire year after dc's graduation depressed. And I didn't even have the issues you did.Sharon in WaI have to post as anonymous because I'm too lazy to find my google password

  5. >Chloe,I'm glad they issued an apology. I have thoroughly enjoyed your posts, your perspectives. May you find the joy in your new season. Wear those heels, climb those mountains, enjoy your husband. LIVE LIFE! And don't forget to stop in every now and then and let us know how life is.

  6. >Chloe- I appreciate you so much!! I'm sorry to see you leaving the forums, but I will continue to follow your blog.Which 14er are you planning to climb? I've climbed I think 9 or 10, they are a ton of fun and very addictive!!Thanks for your wisdom and perspective,Jenny (LuvMy2Blessings)

  7. >Chloe, I'm glad things have been resolved and Sonlight's efforts have proven positive. May you enjoy this next stage in life and be blessed in it! ~Luke

  8. >Chloe, I'm glad that you received an apology. I wish that they had been able to do it publicly, but I understand that they are under all sorts of pressures. I, too, have enjoyed SL's product. I have also questioned things at times, in the spirit of "bettering" the product. I, too, am entering another phase of my life. I was not part of this whole debacle, but it has confirmed some things to me about time spent there and where my new focus should be. God's grace go with you…(and if you want any advice on training for that climb, feel free to track me down — I'm a personal trainer and I've climbed in the Alps –although it was many years ago 😉

  9. >Yes, the Sonlight Forums that I knew for 11 years are dead. Killed by small-minded people who are afraid of being touched by the contamination of people who think differently and are able to articulate their thoughts. Now it can become just like most churches today. Lukewarm and safe.I'm free. Chloe has left the building for good.

  10. >You left? Really? You should join me in some online writing classes.My new hobby and my future mode of income. It's coming soon. Magnolia's Memoirs. gonna be big. 😉

  11. Chloe, I'm glad things have been resolved and Sonlight's efforts have proven positive. May you enjoy this next stage in life and be blessed in it! ~Luke

Leave a Reply

