>Mom had back surgery today

>Apparently my mom suffered two compression fractures on the day she arrived in San Diego in early December. Today she went in and had a khyphoplasti of her T11 and T12vertebrae and is staying with us for the night. She’s in good spirits and has great mobility. Modern medicine can be an amazing thing. Hopefully, she will start feeling better soon. They did biopsies but the ortho-surgeon doesn’t think she has bone metastases just normal osteoporosis. This runs in my family and I’m sure my mom has it.

I had a good meeting with the Big Boss today and my union rep and I think the issues are resolved and in my favor. Unfortunately, I have a co-worker who is attempting to self-destruct her life and was trying to drag me along with her. I tried every way I could think of to dissuade her from her plot but to no avail. I told her that I wanted nothing to do with what she was doing. She’s on her own now.

I spoke kindly to my sister today. She feels terrible that she didn’t seek medical care for our mom and I let her off the hook. Mom is difficult to care for and is reaching the point where she has to be treated like a child when it comes to medical decisions. It is a difficult transition for a child to make–becoming their parent’s parent. I felt our relationship thaw just a little.

Wolfie is doing very well. I’m very proud of him.

PSP and TH ought to be moving into their new home in the next couple of weeks. They are working so hard every night after work and all day on the weekends getting their house livable. I’m very proud of them.

This isn’t a well-written blog by any means, but just a newsy little clip. Thanks for the kind comments and the ones that made me think.

4 thoughts on “>Mom had back surgery today

Leave a Reply

