>Retitled: How Naive We Were

>

Welcome to Project “Pray This Girl Out of Our Son’s Heart”. I am inviting any and all into a battle that I believe now has some certainty of success, but absolutely is going to take storming the gates of heaven and wrenching this situation out of the hands of our enemy.

We found out earlier in the week that possibly our son was smuggling out letters to this girl, Emily. That was heartbreaking news for us. I do not want for one minute to give the impression that everything that has happened is Emily’s fault, because I do not believe that at all. My son has made choices. But I also know how tempting a young woman can be, and this one is as tempting as they come.

Awhile back, I wrote about loving an unwanted teenaged love interest out of your child’s life. This tool works, folks. It is a powerful weapon and very effective. We used this on Emily to great effect. When we realized what was happening between her and our son, we brought her into our home, sat her down, and in the most loving and gentlest way possible, we told her with absolute frankness that we knew what was going on, we knew why it was going on, and that we were going to do our best to stop it from going on any more.

It was a good conversation, full of tears and ended in hugs all around. We told her she could see our son as much as she liked, with us present. We had her over for dinner, movies, ice cream. And we treated her like a queen. Within a week, she slept with another guy and broke up with our son. Mission accomplished. We thought.

Unfortunately, we underestimated the severity of the situation and underplayed our hand. We have reason to believe she fully intends to win our son back when he comes home. If Emily were a terrorist, her threat level right now would be RED.

I think the tempting thing to do in a situation like this is to put your head in the sand and accept defeat. We all know a million stories of love affairs that flourished despite parental objection. Maybe your love story follows that plot line. I just watched The Notebook (again) and cried (again). What a great love they had!! But unfortunately, sometimes the parents are right. And this time, we’re right. This girl has got to go. Whether our son decides to pursue his Promised Land or walks straight into his Wasteland after treatment totally depends on where he’s at with this girl when he leaves in less than two weeks.

With a threat level this high, I would be foolish to turn my head and just hope for the best. So, in full-on Xena, my hero, style, I say, “BATTLE!” (I guess Xena actually ululates, but I’m not a big fan of ululation, so no ululating.) Please join me in this battle. I believe we can win. Yesterday, my husband and I fired a missile into the heart of this problem that has the power to turn the tide, but we need follow-up prayer to ensure the wound is fatal.

What, then, shall we say in response to this? If God is for us, who can be against us? (Romans 8:31)


Please pray.

10 thoughts on “>Retitled: How Naive We Were

  1. >Praying with you that Emily will scram, that Wolfie will see the light & desire it above all else!((hugs)) to you, Chloe. Thank you for the honor of walking this road with you.Leslie/NUOY

  2. >Chloe, I will stand watch with you. Psalm 127:1Unless the Lord builds a house, its builders labor over it in vain; unless the Lord watches over a city, the watchman stays alertin vain.” AndZephaniah 3:99 “Then will I purify the lips of the peoples, that all of them may call on the name of the LORD and serve him shoulder to shoulder.”

  3. >”For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor [Emily, nor] anything else in all creation will be able to separate us [him] from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:38-39Keep telling yourself that God adores your son even more than you do… more than you ever could. Satan does not have enough power to block the path that God has made for your ds to run to Him. Joining you in prayer that this will happen!!!GODismyjoy

  4. >I know I am commenting way after the fact (and me a serial lurker, to boot) but I am still praying about this.I’ve walked in your son’s tattered shoes. It’s amazing how God can work this for good and it feels miraculous when you get on the other side.

  5. I know I am commenting way after the fact (and me a serial lurker, to boot) but I am still praying about this.I've walked in your son's tattered shoes. It's amazing how God can work this for good and it feels miraculous when you get on the other side.

Leave a Reply

