>Front Row Seats to a Miracle

>

So I just had this tantalyzing thought…what if you were offered front row seats to witness God perform a real, live miracle but it was going to cost something you held most precious, or maybe everything you had? Would you pay it? Would you really?

I think most of us think we would, but I doubt it. Why? Because most of us want to lead quiet, untouched lives. Ahhh, yeah, we want God to touch our lives, but in ways we like. Wealth, health, properity, comfort, safety, peace, and calm….those are things we humans crave. But few are brave enough, courageous enough, to voluntarily sidle up to the ticket booth and buy front row seats to a miracle. Because front row seats to a miracle don’t come cheap. They are going to cost you and they are going to cost you dearly.

Miracles don’t happen in the mundane. If they did, they wouldn’t be miracles, would they? No, you gotta be pressed against the Red Sea with armies surrounding you on every side and no hope of escape. That’s when you’ll get your miracle. That’s the way it is.

Someone asked me today, “If you could wave your magic wand, what would the perfect solution look like?” Hmmmmm…..

Well, my daughter would find a lovely home a couple of miles away on some land for some ridiculously low price and settle down and have me a passel of grandbabies for me to adore and live happily ever after. Maybe I’ll get my prayer because the housing market is crashing. Of course, my property values are plummeting, but my loss may end up being her miracle. Her miracle is probably going to cost me. And I want my son to come home on fire for God and renouncing his prodigal ways….it could happen. It probably will happen eventually since he has a good heart and knows God and he belongs to God…so the end of that story is almost a guarantee, no matter how the plot turns. But as the old saying goes, “You can’t lock yourself in a closet and expect God to push a hotdog through the keyhole.” My son’s miracle is going to cost me too. It has already cost me a oil-tanker of tears and it’ll probably take a a couple more before this is through. It is going to cost dh a lot of his time and attention. Just when most parents are thinking their job is winding down…ours is becoming harder and more time-consuming. But someday I want to see him married and settled down with a teenaged boy of his own. That’ll be reward enough for me.

And for me? And for my ministry? What is God calling me to next? How is God going to use my ashes for beauty? How is He going to use my foolishness to confound the wise? How is He going to turn my humiliation into a crown that one day I can lay at His feet? I am being called out of the desert. Not quite yet….but it is coming. And I’m going to get to see a miracle. I don’t know what it is going to be yet…but I know it is coming.

And these seats weren’t cheap!

5 thoughts on “>Front Row Seats to a Miracle

  1. >This summer, I made the decision to stay away from “Parenting and Relationships” on SL. I had my reasons, but it kept me from knowing even a hint of what was happening in your family and, for that alone, I regret my decision.So, now I’ve caught up (and am “following” you, now, so as to stay in the loop), and I just want you to know: I still want to be a parent just like you when I grow up.

  2. This summer, I made the decision to stay away from "Parenting and Relationships" on SL. I had my reasons, but it kept me from knowing even a hint of what was happening in your family and, for that alone, I regret my decision.So, now I've caught up (and am "following" you, now, so as to stay in the loop), and I just want you to know: I still want to be a parent just like you when I grow up.

Leave a Reply

