>Through the Looking Glass

>

What the hell is wrong with people? No, please, tell me. What the hell is wrong with people today?

My generation of adults is just crazy. That’s all I can think.

When did drugs and the drug culture become normalized?

Our son’s counselor told us that using drugs today is “normal”. He told us that we were over-reacting to what he called, “normal teenaged drug exploration”. What is that? Normal teenaged drug exploration? Aren’t drugs dangerous and illegal? Is there such a thing as normal teenaged assault and battery? How about normal teenaged armed robbery? Ok, so those are violent crimes and maybe they aren’t a good comparison. Then what about normal teenaged Russian Roulette?

When did drugs and the drug culture become normalized?

Peruse myspace for a nanosecond and you’ll see oodles of pictures of shameless drunk and stoned kids smiling out at you from the snapshots they took of themselves with their cell phones, that mommy and daddy have so generously provided for them, and they’ve have proudly posted on the World Wide Web for all the world to see. Don’t their parents ever look?

Our local police wanted to instigate random searches at the high school with drug-sniffing dogs. The parents shot the idea down and it never happened. Invasion of privacy.

When the star football player at the high school gets a DUI or turns up positive for drugs the parents are the first to run down to the school in protest. What about his college plans? We can’t mess that up.

Yesterday, my son received an email from a friend we know he’s used drugs with inviting him to more drug using in the future. I wrote him back telling him that our son can’t respond to his email because he’s in treatment and that we want no more contact from him again. His mother wrote a vociferous email attacking me for having the audacity of telling her kid that I don’t appreciate his drugs in our lives anymore. I don’t know the details of the email because I didn’t read it. Fearing it would be more than I can handle right now I had someone I trust read it and they told me in no uncertain terms that the woman was very angry with me and to delete it and never read it, which I did.

Why was she so angry? For telling her son that drugs aren’t normal and aren’t ok and that I’m appalled that these pictures are prominently displayed on his myspace profile page:

EDITED: ON JUNE 5, 2011, BECAUSE PEOPLE INTERESTED IN PANTYHOSE ARE NOW VISITING MY BLOG, I REMOVED THESE PHOTOS TO PROTECT THIS STUPID KID WHO DIDN’T HAVE THE SENSE GOD GIVE A TURNIP. 

The third picture is this kid’s myspace avatar. Maybe someone would like to criticize me for publishing these pictures here, but these are already posted publically by him for anyone to view who can find them on myspace. He’s already published them. By the way, he’s 18 years old. Not a minor. These pictures have been up on his myspace page for months. Obviously his mother knows about these pictures and her answer to me was to attack me for saying that there is something wrong with publically posting pictures on the internet of yourself using drugs, and for telling her kid to stay away from mine. How dare I be so judgemental!

Years ago, I lived in a city that had a prostitution problem. Their solution? They put up billboards with the pictures of the “Johns” that were arrested and convicted. Guess what? The prostitutes moved out of that city.

Evil and sin hates the light. I’m fed up wtih living in the dark. What the hell is wrong with people today? Drugs are not innocuous. They are harmful. They are pointless. Parents are in error when they throw up their hands and look the other way. I know how hard it is to face this problem. Trust me, I KNOW!!! But to do otherwise is irresponsible and unforgivable.

What is wrong with people?

9 thoughts on “>Through the Looking Glass

  1. >Chloe, with Wolfie’s permission of course, I suggest you contact your local TV station and see if they want to do a story about your town’s drug culture and what you’ve found online.

  2. >Years ago my stepbrother was in a youth offender correctional facility for burglary. We had a meeting with his “counselor” who proceeded to tell my mom and step dad that we couldn’t treat my stepbrother as if he was a criminal. My mother having studied both sociology and psychology said, “He is a criminal”. The counselor responded, “But you can’t treat him like one.” The counselor then went on to tell us how if we did behave as if my stepbrother had done something wrong then when he relapsed it was our fault. And he was behaving normally given his upbringing and friends. I got mad and never went back to see the counselor again. I had enough to deal with and wasn’t going to take responsibility for my stepbrother’s actions. And yeah that stepbrother has been in and out of prison since. Just because something is labeled “normal” doesn’t mean it’s the right thing to do. Hang in there, you’re on a tough road, but you’re doing what is best for you and your son.

  3. >I am right there with you on this! I dont’ get it. What’s considered responsible parenting is to give them condoms because everybody knows they’re going to do it What’s next? Crash helmets because everybody knows they’re going to drive under the influence?! I remember a commercial made by Caroll O’Connor after his son committed suicide after battling drug addicition. The memory of his face still gives me chills. He looks straight into the camera and says, “Get between your kid and drugs any way you can.” I wonder how many parents are already regretting their cavalier attitude about their kid and drugs.

  4. >It just makes me sick to my stomach! I wanted to let you know that I’m praying for you and your family. Also, you did the right thing … no matter what that stupid counselor thinks!!

  5. I am right there with you on this! I dont' get it. What's considered responsible parenting is to give them condoms because everybody knows they're going to do it What's next? Crash helmets because everybody knows they're going to drive under the influence?! I remember a commercial made by Caroll O'Connor after his son committed suicide after battling drug addicition. The memory of his face still gives me chills. He looks straight into the camera and says, "Get between your kid and drugs any way you can." I wonder how many parents are already regretting their cavalier attitude about their kid and drugs.

  6. Years ago my stepbrother was in a youth offender correctional facility for burglary. We had a meeting with his "counselor" who proceeded to tell my mom and step dad that we couldn't treat my stepbrother as if he was a criminal. My mother having studied both sociology and psychology said, "He is a criminal". The counselor responded, "But you can't treat him like one." The counselor then went on to tell us how if we did behave as if my stepbrother had done something wrong then when he relapsed it was our fault. And he was behaving normally given his upbringing and friends. I got mad and never went back to see the counselor again. I had enough to deal with and wasn't going to take responsibility for my stepbrother's actions. And yeah that stepbrother has been in and out of prison since. Just because something is labeled "normal" doesn't mean it's the right thing to do. Hang in there, you're on a tough road, but you're doing what is best for you and your son.

Leave a Reply

