>All those middle of the night feedings were worth it

>Today both of my kids really went out of their way to show me how much they loved me.

First, my son picked out a movie just for the two of us (Charlie and the Chocolate Factory–the Depp version). This is one of our all-time favorite books. My 6’2″ son then cuddled next to me and told me, “Mom, I can tell you just need me to love on you.” Boy was he right; it was great.

THEN I went to town to buy paint for my new guest room (Benjamin Moore, White Cloud for the ceiling and Cream for the walls). On the way there I got a call from my daughter who was WAITING at the paint store for me. She’d called and her dad had told her where I was going so she headed over there and was wondering what was taking me so long. When I got there she helped me pick out the new paint colors (well, not really “helped” since she was being so silly). Thanks to my daughter’s thoughtfulness, now I have new memories with her of painting this room.

God is so faithful!

It is just like Margaret over on SL said, that God would be with me during this season of my life, teaching me new and exciting things. I haven’t lost my children and the time I lavished on them when they were young is coming back to me in spades. I’ve said for a long time that, in the final analysis, parenting is all about relationship and it is true.

I really do love my kids at this age…they are so fun and so loving and so funny. I’m really blessed. I’ve told them both that I wouldn’t be taking this empty nest thing so hard if they’d just had the decency to be horrid children.

I was very accomplished today. The baseboards are in the trash (they have to be replaced since we’re putting down new wood flooring) and I got the ceiling painted and the walls primed (tinted primer). For some reason the camera won’t download my progress pics. Hopefully I can get these up tomorrow.

I really miss the Sonlight forums and all my friends over there. It is hard not to log on and “see” everybody. But I’m determined to get control over my home. If anybody from SL is here, “HI!!” I miss you.

17 thoughts on “>All those middle of the night feedings were worth it

  1. >I miss you over at SL! I really appreciate your perspective as mom who has already been where I am going. I’m seriously considering printing out your parenting posts. 🙂

  2. >Waving a hello, and smiling at the awesomeness of God! And grinning because of the sure knowledge that relationship with our adult children is, without a doubt, the biggest blessing of being a parent. It’s the culmination of blessing upon blessing. Only God can do something like that! Continuing to pray you through….Margaret

  3. >thanks for letting your SL friends know about the blog, Chloe. I’ve bookmarked you — I so cherish your posts about Wolfie, as I raise up my own boys. Very helpful. Thanks for allowing us along for the ride!

  4. >Typing through tears.You nailed it when you mentioned how much easier the empty nest thing would be if the kids were rotten. I’m facing the beginning of the process (oldest being 16). As much as I long to see who they become I sure will miss this special time of intense Mothering (even though it wears me out some days). Sending you a hug friend. I’ll email you later – I’ve got an idea! Love,Robin/Nibordiz

  5. >Glad your kiddos blessed you so! Have fun decorating that room (not so much the cat scent…but a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.)Texanmom/Briar Rose from SL

  6. >Oh, I’m so glad that PSP met you at the paint store, Chloe! Your big boy cuddling with you on the couch is so precious too!When you’re finished there, can you come start on my kitchen?! 😉

  7. >I miss you all too!!! But I’m getting stuff done. The Tick is thrilled. He has never once begrudged me one second on SL, but he’s glad to see some of these projects getting worked on, finally.Sadly, as you’ll see when I post the “before” pics, I have a lot to do before I can head over to anyone else’s place and help them. chloe

  8. I miss you all too!!! But I'm getting stuff done. The Tick is thrilled. He has never once begrudged me one second on SL, but he's glad to see some of these projects getting worked on, finally.Sadly, as you'll see when I post the "before" pics, I have a lot to do before I can head over to anyone else's place and help them. chloe

  9. Oh, I'm so glad that PSP met you at the paint store, Chloe! Your big boy cuddling with you on the couch is so precious too!When you're finished there, can you come start on my kitchen?! 😉

  10. Waving a hello, and smiling at the awesomeness of God! And grinning because of the sure knowledge that relationship with our adult children is, without a doubt, the biggest blessing of being a parent. It's the culmination of blessing upon blessing. Only God can do something like that! Continuing to pray you through….Margaret

Leave a Reply

