>What I need to do this summer

>This is the pre-event version of the classic “What I Did This Summer” essay.

I have a huge list of what I need to get done this summer. One of the main reasons I needed to leave the sonlight forums for a season is because I spend wayyyy too much time there. How I’m supposed to keep from spending too much time here, I don’t know, but in an effort to keep myself on track I thought the first thing I’d do is write down what I want to accomplish this summer in the tons of time I’m not sitting on my butt in front of my computer anymore.

Yes, it is true. The very first thing I’m going to do in my efforts to cut down on computer time is sit here in front of my computer and write this list. (Can you say ironic? I knew you could.)

I have the camera battery charging and later today I plan to add “before” pictures to each of these projects. That way when I post the “after” pictures I can brag to myself about my accomplishments and finally have something to show to my husband to account for my time.

We have a two car garage, a separate cottage with its own one car garage and a shed behind that. Stuff is crammed everywhere in these three storage areas. Too much stuff. My daughter had a winter-themed wedding and due to snow and cold and extreme emotional exhaustion on my part all her wedding stuff is still stacked shoulder high in the two car garage. For the same reasons, Christmas got dumped in the one car garage and litters the shed, too. One of our cats got locked in the shed for a week and shredded and peed on everything and I need to get out there and deal with that. My dd’s room, with its wildly orange faux panted walls and blue/purple trim, still sits empty 5 months after she’s gone. It looked exotic when she lived in it, now it just looks…..empty and gaudy.

Remains from our various home improvement projects are dumped in piles everywhere. I’d like to enter the second half of my life in control of my stuff. I’d like to be able to walk into the garages and my daughter’s bedroom without feeling sick to my stomach with avoidance anxiety. It isn’t going to happen if I don’t face it and do it.

I’d like my daughter’s room to be a beautiful French Country guest room with two twin iron beds and a pretty dressing table where I can apply all the various creams and potions that my 46yo skin demands to keep it looking dewy and young. I’d like my garage to be a place I can park my car. I’d like to stop stumbling over Christmas and I’d like to be able to go into my shed without reeling from the stench of cat piss.

Guest Room

  1. Rip off baseboards and trim
  2. take down ceiling fan or wrap it for painting
  3. prep walls and ceiling
  4. paint
  5. rip out carpet
  6. lay down laminate flooring (Honey?)
  7. new baseboards and trim (Honey?)
  8. decorate

Organize garage

  1. Sort through wedding stuff
  2. Call Lily’s and see if they still want centerpieces
  3. drywall & paint
  4. replace burnt out flourescents
  5. repair floor and paint
  6. put up shelving
  7. move and install tool bench from one car garage

Organize Christmas stuff and store

Organize one car garage

  1. install shelving for food storage bins
  2. order food storage bins
  3. organize food storage
  4. replace burnt out flourescents

Clean out back shed

  1. Go through books
  2. sell old curriculum and hs supplies or box for grandchildren
  3. go through art and either use or discard
  4. reorganize garden supplies
  5. sort through house project materials

Finish Cottage House

  1. replace old broken outlet
  2. replace burnt out lightbulbs
  3. put on draft protectors at bottom of doors
  4. put up sheers and art

Jeff’s Den

  1. Paint (?)
  2. frame record album covers

Garden

  1. put in herbs
  2. plant back flowerbed
  3. put in drip hose for hydrangeas

Porch

  1. Restain and seal front porch

Well, that’s it for now. I’ve got a lot to do.

17 thoughts on “>What I need to do this summer

  1. >Hey Gurl!How sad is it that I was fascinated reading your to-do list? 🙂 Wanna read mine? It is equally exciting minus the cat piss. Today’s words of wisdom: on behalf of your grandchildren, sell the homeschool stuff! 🙂 All the best to you in blog word! You gotta lot to say and I bet people will enjoy reading it. But the main thing is to enjoy writing it!Love,Reba

  2. >I have a list like that. It’s kind of scary, but it feels good when you start crossing things off.Glad to see you here in the blogosphere so I know you’re not lost forever. Someday I’ll start blogging again.

  3. >Wowsers GF! You are going to be one amazing woman. :)I love your idea of before & after pictures. I could take pix of fab and then show you the quilt later. I have some painting to do as well. *sigh*Welcome to blogging!!

  4. >Wow, what a to-do list! Mine looks similar, but I tend to ignore it! :)Glad to see you here, and subscribing to your RSS feed so that I can keep track of you! Hugs,Leslie/NUOY

  5. >I will totally give you a motivation to finish the country french guest room. I can give you a deadline too. Let’s see…. dh is bound to have another contract up that direction some day soon….

  6. >WOWWW!!That’s quite the list!!Are you SUUUURRREE you can’t contribute your wisdom to the SL forums this summer?!?!?OK….I guess I’ll just come here & get it! 🙂

  7. >I have no idea how to comment back to individuals who comment on my blog. I’m going to have to sit down and figure this stuff out a little bit better. I am already missing the give and take of sonlight, but this has to work somehow. Thanks everybody for coming by and wishing me well. Already my computer time has been cut down considerably. I’m getting reaady to paint tonight!!!

  8. WOWWW!!That's quite the list!!Are you SUUUURRREE you can't contribute your wisdom to the SL forums this summer?!?!?OK….I guess I'll just come here & get it! 🙂

  9. Wowsers GF! You are going to be one amazing woman. :)I love your idea of before & after pictures. I could take pix of fab and then show you the quilt later. I have some painting to do as well. *sigh*Welcome to blogging!!

  10. I have a list like that. It's kind of scary, but it feels good when you start crossing things off.Glad to see you here in the blogosphere so I know you're not lost forever. Someday I'll start blogging again.

  11. Hey Gurl!How sad is it that I was fascinated reading your to-do list? 🙂 Wanna read mine? It is equally exciting minus the cat piss. Today's words of wisdom: on behalf of your grandchildren, sell the homeschool stuff! 🙂 All the best to you in blog word! You gotta lot to say and I bet people will enjoy reading it. But the main thing is to enjoy writing it!Love,Reba

Leave a Reply

